Your Apple Might Not Be Suitable for Vegetarians

Before vinyl records were created in the 1940s, they were made of shellac. It’s also a varnish for wood floors, furniture and fine stringed instruments.
Shellac is a great sealant that keeps moisture in ( or out ) and oftentimes it replaces the natural wax found on apples that gets removed when they are washed. Obviously it’s edible and used on other things like chewing gum, coffee beans and chocolates.
Ever see the terms “enteric coated” or “pharmaceutical glaze” on drug ingredients ? That’s a coating used to stop medications from disintegrating too fast in the stomach. That’s also shellac.
Shellac is used in thin layers called “resinous glaze”, “food glaze” or “natutal glaze” on food.
The source of all this is the “lac beetle”. Specifically the female of the species; that is the “she” in “shellac”. In their larval stage they secrete a waterproof, hard tube of resin and they move about on trees and feed on sap.
Once the beetles are gone, the tubes are scraped into bags, heated, strained and dried into flakes or processed with more chemicals to be useful. It’s not efficient, it takes 100,000 lac bugs to make one pound of shellac flakes.
Ironically enough, because it comes from an insect, it is not a vegetarian item. In other words, your shiny supermarket item may not be suitable for vegetarians.